Skip to content

fish supper

January 16, 2012

Saturday we went to the open-air market downtown with a few coworkers. My shopping list was:

  • bananas
  • other fruit
  • greens
  • other veggies
  • fish

How hard can it be to cook a fish? After all, I’ve butchered chickens and consider myself a pretty capable cook.

Our coworker Julie spoke in Pijin with the fishermen at the market and found us a nice, fresh 3-pound red snapper for about $6 US. It was already gutted, so all we had to do is chop off the head with a bush knife (machete), fillet it or cut it in half, and cook it. I covered the head with a plastic bag so I couldn’t see the eyes, but I still couldn’t chop it off. Either I’m physically or mentally not strong enough, but I had to get John to do it.

You can see that I’m not so sure what I’m doing with half of that fish in the skillet. While I was trying to figure out whether it was cooking properly or whether we’d be eating from our emergency PB&J stash for supper, I was feeling a bit sorry for myself. Then I prayed for a needed attitude adjustment. Hello, Lori, you’re spending a weekend evening on a tropical island, cooking a fresh fish you bought today at market, while your husband is reading Dr. Seuss to your toddler beneath the ceiling fan. It’s going to be okay.

After I added salt, pepper, and lime juice, it ended up tasting fine, but now I better understand why people buy canned fish.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 6:50 am

    Hilarious… I don’t kill fish either, but cooking and touching no problem. Do remember next time that the fish will be much tastier if you cook it with the head on. Also the cheecks contain the best meat of the whole fish…

    • January 16, 2012 9:05 pm

      I’ve heard it’s tasty, but I’ll have to work up to cooking the fish head. We gave it to our neighbors this time.
      Thanks for the like!

  2. January 16, 2012 10:15 pm

    i loved your attitude adjustment! fantastic!! :):) and way to cook the fish! i’ve never cooked fish…

  3. Denise permalink
    January 17, 2012 10:03 am

    Israel? You can do it!

  4. January 17, 2012 11:49 am

    You are, without a doubt, beyond amazing! I love you lots and we just have to admit that some things are hard, and that’s ok. It’s from God and so it’s good. And your scenery is gorgeous! I can’t wait to hear more about your adventure!

  5. January 19, 2012 5:11 am

    Canned fish! You must be from Iowa or something! Sauteed, grilled, smoked, or baked, fresh is the best. I’m sure you’ll get more ideas with each fish – I always think some kind of fruit salsa is a nice complement.

    Now if only I could get my attitude adjusted about the things I find irksome in our location. . .

  6. January 25, 2012 9:28 pm

    I’m sure the first time is always the hardest. Love the photo!

  7. Mom permalink
    January 30, 2012 3:07 pm

    Really you didn’t have to kill the fish, just chop off the head. Unlike the chickens…
    Mom

Trackbacks

  1. food from the market « havengadventure
  2. Hazardous Green Leafy Thing | havengadventure
  3. fish heads in the fridge | havengadventure

Leave a Reply

