Skip to content

tropical flowers and D’s helpfulness

January 24, 2012

When I was a kid, after I realized I was too weak-stomached to be a nurse, my dream job was to be a florist. I’m loving the tropical flowers here. It makes sense that these flowers are very expensive back home, as transportation to the midwest U.S. can’t be cheap and probably damages them. Still, it’s crazy to see how common and cheap some flowers are here.

The flowers in the leis we were welcomed with at the airport are called frangipani. Turns out there are several frangipani trees near our apartment, so the flowers are all over the ground. All of the ones I’ve seen are white, and some have pink edges. Little D likes to play with them and tries to put them in my hair.

D giving me frangipani

This vase of orchids made our kitchen more cheery when we arrived. I think a SITAG employee grows them and put them in our house just before we arrived. I finally threw these out about 10 days later.

welcoming bouquet

On Saturdays, vendors sell flowers at the main market downtown. John brought home these purple orchids for me. I can’t imagine how much they would cost in the US. He didn’t tell me what he paid, but he did write it down on our spending record. They cost the equivalent of $1.30 US. Now that I know that, there will be no shortage of bouquets at our house!

flowers from my husband

Little D is helping around the house a lot. His new favorite toys: the small basket of clothespins, the big laundry basket, and the dustpan. John swept this morning, and D followed him around with the little broom asking for more dirt: “moh duht? moh duht?”

getting old enough to be occasionally helpful

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    January 24, 2012 9:49 am

    Nice outfit in the flower pictures, Little D!

  2. Mom & Dad H permalink
    January 24, 2012 5:24 pm

    Tickled to see that D still likes to have the dustpan filled!

  3. Mom & Dad H permalink
    January 24, 2012 5:28 pm

    Now we have a clue why he likes flowers so much–he takes after his mom!

  4. February 4, 2012 4:21 pm

    Way to go, D! 🙂 Lovin’ these updates… blessings!

Leave a Reply

