Skip to content

a country song and our anniversary

May 11, 2012

As soon as Little D was buckled into his car seat yesterday, he asked me, “Music on?” I usually listen to country. Little D seems to prefer country with a strong melody over easy listening, rock, or non-songs. He’ll say “Music on” or “‘nother song?” when the station goes to an ad or the DJ starts talking. Makes me proud. I’m glad I still get to listen to real music and don’t yet have to entertain him with toddler tunes.

Yesterday I heard the country song “Woman Like You” for the first time. In it, a guy lists the things he’d be doing if he were still single:

I’d be shootin’ pool in my bachelor pad
Playing bass in my cover band
Restocking up cold Bud Light
For poker every Tuesday night

He then reassures his wife, “I’d take a gold band on my hand over being a single man.”

Based on history, I’d be more likely than John to be doing many of the bachelor things in the song. Other things I might be doing include:

  • Living in a little apartment on the West Coast
  • Eating more sushi (’cause I wouldn’t be pregnant)
  • Working in a normal job
  • Learning to play another instrument
  • Reading more for-fun books that were written for adults


Things I probably wouldn’t be doing include:

1) running and 2) actually enjoying it

after my first half-marathon, 2008

3) cooking or eating stuff like this

4) pretty much everything on this blog

 

In celebration of our five-year anniversary tomorrow!, here are a few things I by definition wouldn’t be doing if I were single. It’s a good reason to post some of my favorite pictures.

going on a fall walk while dating

getting married

having our first Christmas tree

relaxing on our porch when we lived in Illinois

having a family photo shoot (great job, Jaci!)

As I wait for our second baby to arrive any day, I sure like what my silver band symbolizes and how John, marriage, and being a mom have changed me. Not that my wedding ring fits on my pregnancy-swollen hand this week, but you get the idea. I’m a lucky girl. Happy anniversary, honey!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom C permalink
    May 11, 2012 10:54 am

    Happy anniversary soon, and congrats on the many jobs you are doing well! I too see lots of growth, and I don’t mean baby.
    And–though not a new instrument, we could pull out the violin!
    Love you all.
    Mom

  2. May 11, 2012 11:47 am

    Love that pic as well. Happy anniversary 🙂

  3. Tammy Hodel permalink
    May 11, 2012 12:24 pm

    Aww! Loved this. 🙂 Praying baby comes soon!

  4. May 11, 2012 12:45 pm

    I’ve heard that song and thought the same thing. I’d be somewhere else…probably overseas teaching or working at a camp. But, I wouldn’t change anything and I enjoy all the thing I get to do because I am a wife and mother. 5 years already. My how time flies.

Trackbacks

  1. Exciting weekend getaway for our anniversary! « havengadventure

Leave a Reply

