Skip to content

A Michigan day (8/9/12)

August 9, 2012

After seeing two friends do this on their blogs, I thought it was a great idea to give you a more detailed, familiar, and hopefully more frequent look at our lives.  The categories might shift with our situation, but you’ll get a better idea of what goes on day to day.

Outside my window…
Darkness on our quiet street

I am thinking…
I have too many loose ends to tie up tomorrow.

Noticing that…
I can click around on the computer a lot without accomplishing anything.

I am thankful for…
Flexible in-laws; reliable electricity

I am praying…
That John and I would know how to help Little D adjust to new locations.

From the kitchen…
I just snacked on a fresh Michigan peach I bought yesterday at the farmers’ market.

I am wearing…
An Iowa (the state, not the university) t-shirt.

I am learning…
That my father-in-law is pretty smart about a lot of stuff. I drilled him today with lots of questions about how he runs his business.

I am reading…
“Blink” by Malcolm Gladwell. Easy to read, really interesting. Reading on our Kindle because it’s more transportable than books, but still getting used to the pages being so short and not being able to flip through the book easily.

I am hoping…
That we don’t go crazy tomorrow packing up for our next state.

Pondering these words…
“Self-reliance is poverty” from a Reader’s Digest article a few months ago.

I am hearing…
Olympics highlights in the background; cabinet doors shutting as my father-in-law finishes putting away dishes

Around the house…
Finishing a skirt with my mother-in-law. I was going to make it with my grandma-in-law, but really my grandma-in-law made it while I fed M and watched. We have a few things to finish up on it. I’ve sewn very little before, but I think this might be the start of something fun.

One of my favorite things…
Seeing Little D smile or laugh at M and then seeing M laugh in response.

Kids this week…
Little D really likes his tie-dye shirt we made last week at Cran-Hill Ranch. He also likes to wear his bike helmet around the house.

The boys enjoying the US and Olympic flags

A few plans for the rest of the week…
Before we leave for Illinois Saturday: mail a few packages, do 2 loads of laundry, go for a walk, read for a bit, get enough sleep, have lunch Saturday with some dear friends in Chicago.

Special times…
Having ice cream with John’s grandparents twice this week and seeing how well Grandma’s doing after two recent surgeries.

Capturing a moment…

Little D wears Grandpa Jim’s hat on a walk today

-Lori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. sravani permalink
    August 10, 2012 10:51 pm

    I like this post:-)

  2. mom permalink
    August 11, 2012 3:28 pm

    Fun to hear how you are doing. Praying for D making another adjustment to place. He has moved out of toddler to little boy! And M is changing fast; fun to see photo of him with D. How lucky they are to have a brother!

Leave a Reply

