Skip to content

Prayer partner update: our week at camp was great!

August 9, 2012

Thank you for your prayers while I was chaplain at Cran-Hill Ranch last week!  There were several times when I could clearly feel your prayer support while I was teaching about following Christ.  Being chaplain was more challenging and tiring than I had expected, but it also went much better than I’d expected. Throughout the week I spoke to a group of 30 high school students and to a group of 100 middle school students.

I was particularly thankful that I was able to connect well with a group of high school guys, several of whom acted “too cool for camp” for much of the week.  Praise God that two of those guys decided to follow Christ for the first time!  I had a really good conversation with another one of those guys the last night about seeing God’s power and greatness throughout His creation.

Praises and requests:

  •     Praise God for the students who decided to follow Christ or rededicate their lives to Christ!!!!  There were at least 8 students that I know of! Please especially pray that God would help three campers whose initials are T., D, and M. connect with other Christians back home and that they would learn what it means to follow Christ for the rest of their lives.
  •     Pray that God would help all of the campers continue to follow Christ even as they return to “normal life” away from camp.
  •     Praise God for how He spoke through me to connect to the campers. The campers seemed to be engaged and following the material that I presented.
  •     Praise God: one camp counselor told me that one night her girls wanted to stay up reading their Bibles rather than going to sleep.
  •     Pray that the camp staff would finish the summer well and God would give them energy as they’re in their last week of summer camp.

Thank you so much for your partnership in our work through your prayers!

Praising God from whom all blessings flow,
John for the Havengas

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

