Skip to content

we’re leaving tomorrow

September 15, 2012

I’m not sure how to punctuate the title of this post:

We’re leaving tomorrow!  

or

We’re leaving tomorrow… 

or

We’re leaving tomorrow?

or what apparently is acceptable online,

We’re leaving tomorrow?!?!

but I don’t like looking at multiple punctuation marks in a row.

My brain is pretty scattered trying to deal with this fact. So I’ll include a scattered bit of info here for you to deal with. Normally this would be separate, longer posts.

1) We fly from Des Moines to Chicago to Los Angeles to Fiji to Vanuatu to the Solomon Islands tomorrow/the next day/the next day. We leave Des Moines tomorrow at 1:45PM Central Time and get to the Solomon Islands at 11AM Tuesday morning their time, which is 7PM Monday night Central Time.

The part of the trip I’m least looking forward to is going through security. We’ll have a guitar, a car seat, a laptop bag, a diaper bag, and a few other things. And a few kids to hold on to. Little D is getting better about the grocery store checkout, but he still doesn’t like when we put things on the counter for someone else to handle before they give them back. I’m not looking forward to the part where we put everything, including his shoes, on the conveyor belt. I never know though, maybe he’ll handle it well.

2) Thanks to all of you who emailed or talked to me about my “Are you excited to leave?” post. You really encouraged me in what we’re doing. It was also pretty neat to hear how many of you are going through things you don’t like but know are the right things to be going through.

3) On Sunday, I was talking to someone about bringing our kids over to the Solomons. I figure that our kids won’t end up being “typical” American kids. That’s usually okay with me, but sometimes I worry I’m scarring them or something. Most parents probably think that about our kids in some area or another. Anyway, this lady I was talking with said something like, “Yeah, but it’s so neat that they’ll be able to see so much of the world. Living around here isn’t what most of the world is like.”

I replied, “But it isn’t over there either.” Our conversation moved along, but it got me thinking. I grew up on a farm in Iowa (bonus points if you know a song about that) and always wanted to “get out.” I knew there was so much more to the world than just living here, and why didn’t my parents and all of the adults around here get that? Now I’ve gotten to travel to most of the states in the U.S. and to something like 17 countries. Traveling does give us more of an idea how other people live, and there is obviously a lot more to see than what someone sees growing up in central Iowa, and my travels have really influenced me. But still, some kid growing up in a rural area in the Solomon Islands isn’t going to have a better idea of “what the world is like” than a kid in central Iowa, or than a kid in Chicago, or Beijing, or wherever.

I suppose it’s what we do with the time we have where we are: whether we get involved in community activities, whether we get to know people who didn’t grow up exactly like we did, whether we take the chances we get to travel, whether we take time to talk to someone and see what they’re really interested in and what they like about their life–whether similar to ours or completely different. I think that understanding people is really how we understand “what the world is like.”

4) I deleted about 25 things off of my to-do list today. I didn’t complete them; I literally deleted the rows in my Excel spreadsheet to-do list. (Those of you who think I’m laid-back may be surprised by my frequent use of Excel lists.) It felt good to acknowledge to myself, “I’m never going to decide to do this thing. It’s not important enough.” Encouraged by the lack of hours left on this continent, I made a conscious decision to NOT do things. I recommend it. It frees up time for stuff that is more important to me, like making a picture book of this summer so that Little D, Baby M, and their grandparents have a fun way to remember the past six months in the U.S.

5) On that topic, here are a few pictures I like:

Little D with some favorite accessories

Little D playing with his new grain auger

Baby M looking agreeable as usual

That’s all I have for now. Usually I have John check my posts to make sure they’re coherent, but I hate to disturb him when he’s packing.

We’ll try to post something from the Solomons within the week.

[no clever signoff],

-Lori

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    September 16, 2012 7:03 am

    With accessories like that, of course Little D wouldn’t want to give them up at airport security!
    Love you all and prayers for a safe and sane trip!

  2. September 16, 2012 7:31 am

    Dear Lori,

    Thank you for making it real. I am home now taking care of my mom. She was recently diagnosed with cancer. Sean and I are here. Chris is in Zambia. Everything is weird. I just about cried when I read your excited to go back post because you totally hit the nail on the head. Blessings to you and your family and prayers for sane and safe travels.

    Joy in the journey, Janine

  3. September 17, 2012 8:10 am

    You can do it, Lori! We’ll be back in the Solomons in a few months to cheer you on 🙂

  4. mom permalink
    September 18, 2012 7:47 am

    Little D actually wore that PJ top on the plane. But with the matching pants, not Thomas Train. He gave up the pictured accessories but carried a small combine. And the grain “auder” is safely in Honiara with him. Baby M wore his agreeable smile, and with grandpas helping pack, he won’t have to worry about toys either.

Leave a Reply

