Skip to content

the rest of our first stay out West

November 24, 2013

For the rest of our stay out West in August, we moved to another village. John spoke at a few meetings and churches, which was really important, but I wasn’t usually there so won’t write about those.  We heard a lot of phrases in the local language, wrote down a lot, recorded some, and remember a few. People fed us sometimes, which was nice because then we got to talk to them and I didn’t have to cook.

The low-down on our lodging this time: the guest house there was large and not very furnished. It had mattresses and a table. It had a quite large front porch, where we ended up eating all of our meals on the provided chairs or benches. I hadn’t realized how great shelves are until I tried keeping a house under control with a toddler and only one surface that was out of his reach. It’s also tough to drain pasta without a sink. This house did have doorknobs, but not screens on the windows. So, to avoid the early-morning mosquito attacks, we had the boys sleep in their little pop-up tents. John and I slept under a mosquito net a few times but generally didn’t use a net and just got up for the day when the mosquitoes started buzzing loudly. It’s kind of like waking up to the sound of birds chirping, I told myself.

We washed laundry and dishes at a pipe nearby that brought water from a stream. We drank rain water that collected in a nearby tank. There were two mostly-flush toilets in small bathrooms beneath the guest house. We showered at a pipe that was higher than us. (There has to be a better way to say that.) Sometimes the piped-in water supply didn’t work, so people canoed to a river to do laundry. I just skipped doing laundry on those days. Oh, yes, an interesting fact to Americans is that people in villages here generally shower while partially or fully clothed and in public areas. There is technique to this that I shan’t go into here, but I’m finally comfortable with showering in the village.

I don’t have much witty or wise about the trip. I just want to get photos posted before we take our next trip, hopefully in about a week.

-Lori

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2013 5:17 am

    great photos 🙂 !!

  2. Amy Devanney permalink
    December 4, 2013 8:32 pm

    What an adventure you are having!! I caught up on all of your posts and pictures. I’m so proud of you, Jon!

  3. Tammy Hodel permalink
    December 4, 2013 10:22 pm

    “It’s kind of like the sound of birds chirping.” I laughed out loud on this one! Oh Lori, how I love your postings! I’d say you nailed the wit. I miss you my friend. You are such a beautiful woman inside and out.

Leave a Reply

