Skip to content

New Zealand

March 8, 2014

After my last post, my parents came! Then we all went back to Kolombangara for a few weeks, then we came back to Honiara, then they went back to the U.S.

the four of us

the four of us in Honiara

with my parents

with my parents

This week was crazy: three of us were sick, we packed up our house in Honiara, we tried to adequately celebrate John’s birthday in all of that, we mostly got better, and then two days ago we arrived in New Zealand for vacation!

The internet connection here is waaaay faster than I’m used to. Therefore, pictures in a timely manner:

birthday cake with friends

birthday cake with friends

IMG_3555

We went to a park today. Everyday stuff in my U.S. life; remarkable for my current life. There are lots of parks and public areas here where the kids can comfortably play. There are lots of trash cans, public restrooms, maps, and street signs. And drinking fountains! When I mentioned a drinking fountain while in the airport on the way here, Little D didn’t know what I was talking about.

Yesterday, we hung out in a plaza downtown for a few hours. The boys played with leaves and toy trucks while I ate an apricot and cried for a few minutes. It is so refreshing for me to be somewhere that feels familiar, even though we’ve never been to NZ before. I especially like the feeling of blending in and not being looked at because I look different. It’s a constant stress for me in the Solomons.

IMG_3571

IMG_3586

IMG_3583

IMG_3581

Also today, I brought Little M to a doctor to make sure his cold isn’t anything more serious. The doctor we saw today is now trying to get us an appointment with a pediatrician here soon to get the ongoing issue of M’s low weight addressed. He is highly active and totally on top of his game cognitively, but he is very small and really needs to be gaining weight more quickly than he is. We’ve been working for a long time on getting him to gain more weight, and we think that we have gotten all the help for him that we can in the Solomons.

IMG_3569

IMG_3612

IMG_3627

Do it again!

Do it again!

go, M, go

go, M, go

Look at how many clothes these kids have on!

M driving the ship

M driving the ship

I see you...

I see you…

I’m like a little kid. I could hardly fall asleep last night because I was so excited about what we’d do today.

 

-Lori

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Denise permalink
    March 8, 2014 7:30 am

    Love you!

  2. Laura permalink
    March 8, 2014 12:15 pm

    those hats and sweatshirts look so nice………………. did you have those previously, or have to make s special trip to get them? have fun exploring and playing and taking a break!

  3. Erin permalink
    March 8, 2014 9:20 pm

    I just want to give you a hug! Enjoy your vacation!

  4. Grandma Kay permalink
    March 9, 2014 9:23 pm

    Glad to see and hear that you and the boys are enjoying yourselves in New Zealand! Have a lot of adventures! We love you!

  5. Tammy Hodel permalink
    March 19, 2014 10:37 pm

    Ditto what Erin said. Love you Lori!

Leave a Reply

