Skip to content

fish heads in the fridge

May 24, 2015

A bag of fish heads is in my fridge.

I went to the market Friday afternoon and thought about buying a chicken to cook. So I walked through the fish and chicken section. There were no more chickens left, but all of the fish vendors were trying to get my attention. “Hi, Missus!” “Nice fish!”

One cooler of bright red fish caught my attention. The vendor talked me into buying four. While I was paying him, another vendor walked up with a plastic bag full of squid. He told me they were just caught and that I should buy some for supper. I told him I don’t know how to cook them. He assured me that he’d already removed all of the parts that aren’t edible, so all I needed to do was cut them into strips and fry them.

I pointed at the eyes: “Even these?”

“Yes, you can eat those.”

Fair enough. I’ve cooked packaged squid before, so I knew what the end goal was. Instead of a chicken, I went home with three squid and four red fish.

I cut up the squid and removed some parts that are probably edible but I did not wish to eat, including some squishy inside parts and the section with the eyes. Big D was curious as usual and wanted to feel the eyeballs. Lately he’s been interested in learning how eyes work. Little M came and felt the eyeballs too.

a squid before eye removal

a squid before eye removal

Sliced, breaded, and fried, the squid was pretty good. Chewy, but that’s expected.

After supper, I filleted the fish. I’ve learned a lot about how to prepare fish since the first time I bought a whole fish.ย  I’ve never seen a Solomon Islander fillet a fish. It’s probably as wasteful as buying a whole chicken and only eating the chicken breast would be, which I would never do. Solomon Islanders often chop up a fish into big chunks and boil it in soup. Other times they bake whole fish and then everyone removes the bones of his or her own piece. Some people say the fish head is the best part.

so pretty...

so pretty…

But I don’t have the patience for using little pieces of fish or dealing with all the bones, and I don’t particularly like fish-flavored things like soup. So I filleted the fish to use the next night.

I planned to give the fish heads to a neighbor who would appreciate them, and I would give the fish bones to a neighborhood dog.

fish fillets for supper

fish fillets for supper

Big D came in the kitchen while I was filleting the fish after his bedtime. He asked if he could feel the eyeballs. I told him he could tomorrow. He asked if he could cut up the fish head. Tomorrow, I said again. Go to sleep.

“Mommy, please don’t cut up the fish head or take out the eyeballs while I’m asleep.”

I don’t often promise things to my kids; too many things can come up for me to make promises on things like going swimming or eating something specific for supper. But this time I felt secure in saying, “I promise I will not cut up the fish head or eyeballs while you’re asleep.”

“Promise? Will you not do anything with the eyeballs at all?”

“I promise.”

Thankfully, John is back from his trip, so I delegated him to be the fish-head-dissecter. My tolerance for dead things falls somewhere after filleting fish but before cutting out its eyeballs.

After supper tonight, John led the boys through a fish-head-dissection session. I overheard comments like, “Now can we look at its brain?” and “This is the best science experiment!” I did not take any pictures of that.

After they were done, I put the fish heads back in the Ziploc and stashed it in the freezer.

Big D wandered into the kitchen after bath time. “Mommy, where did you put my fish heads?”

“In the freezer,” I answered.

“But then they will be hard, and if we want to do anything with them tomorrow we will have to wait for them to get soggy.”

currently in my fridge

currently in my fridge

Thus the four fish heads are back in the fridge.

-Lori

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    May 24, 2015 8:16 am

    Love it! Who needs to plan home school. It just happens. Have fun.

  2. Patty permalink
    May 24, 2015 9:01 am

    LOVE IT!

  3. Mom C permalink
    May 24, 2015 1:47 pm

    Will the fish heads still get to the neighbor, or are they now donated to science?

  4. Grandma Kay permalink
    May 24, 2015 1:57 pm

    Yay for curiosity! Sounds like the boys enjoyed themselves! How about John?

  5. coleencr permalink
    May 24, 2015 8:50 pm

    Oh my! Thanks for not taking any more pictures!! Praying for yโ€™all.

    >

  6. Tammy permalink
    May 24, 2015 9:28 pm

    Excellent! Loved every word! ๐Ÿ˜€ You guys are such a great family! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Aunt Donna permalink
    May 25, 2015 10:11 am

    Interesting! I admire you for the unique things you do. Inquisitive kids are so much fun! Prayers continue for all of you.

  8. John Stanford permalink
    May 25, 2015 12:01 pm

    This is so funny! Lori is a real trooper!! Mom

    >

  9. Willis & June Van Haaften permalink
    May 25, 2015 4:56 pm

    I loved the fish story. We have been eating Blue Gil, caught and cleaned by our son in law Jim. Assuring you of our prayers and the promise of God’s faithfulness. June V H.

Leave a Reply

