Skip to content

Which kid is which?

March 9, 2016
tags:

When I was young, I got annoyed when people got my sister and me mixed up. I couldn’t understand how they thought we looked alike. My sister was two years older, four inches taller, and blonder. Sooo different.

In college, I saw more diversity among people and realized that, in the big scheme of things, both of my sisters and I look similar.

Now that I have my own kids, I’ve had to refer to the “created on” dates on photo files several times to know which kid is in a picture. My kids don’t look completely different from a few of their cousins, either.

If they look alike to their parents, how much more they must look alike to people who don’t know them. Many Solomon Islanders have commented on how alike our kids look. In this country, over 99% of the population has very different coloring from my family. There are probably fewer than five other Caucasian one-year-old kids in the country. We get a LOT of attention when we go shopping. I don’t enjoy the attention, but I’m getting used to it. I AM enjoying watching my three blond boys look more like each other as they get older.

For fun, here’s a picture of M when he was about 1 1/2.

-Lori

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon Windley permalink
    March 9, 2016 6:36 am

    Was just thinking that your boys look so similar! Love the pics and updates. You all are in my prayers.

  2. Mom C permalink
    March 9, 2016 8:15 am

    At least I knew the above photo is M. But when I went through photos last week, especially when boys were floating in the water, a couple times I had to go by what shirt they had on!

Leave a Reply

